Republicans: Still Stuck in the 1950s

I started this blog because it’s a ridiculous world, especially in politics.  I drive my family nuts when I start talking about this stuff, so I decided that I’d inflict my views on the blogosphere.  And where better to start, really, than with John Boehner’s move to defend the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA).

A week or so after the Obama administration announced that it would no longer defend DOMA in court (even though he is still enforcing the law), our Speaker of the House — Boehner — says that never fear, he’ll defend it.  This, of course, keeps the Republicans squarely in the 1950s.  Whatever moves they make to join the 21st century they are dragged, kicking and screaming into the future.

[Nancy] Pelosi said in a statement that Boehner’s move placed Republicans “squarely on the wrong side of history and progress” and would likely cost the House hundreds of thousands of taxpayer dollars.

“President Obama took a bold step forward for civil rights and equality when he announced that the federal government would no longer argue to uphold the Defense of Marriage Act in court,” Pelosi said. “I oppose Speaker Boehner’s effort to put the House in the position of defending this indefensible statute.”

It will probably lose, too.  Ted Olson and David Boies have done a great job eviscerating Proposition 8 in federal court.  And it should lose, too.

It’s ridiculous (I think this could be a theme on this blog) that another person would give a damn about who other people sleep with, love, or want to spend their lives with.  I really wonder when people will live and let live, and stop worrying so much about what someone else does.  Same-sex relationships have nothing to do with anyone else’s relationship.  None.  And spare me the rhetoric that a same-sex marriage somehow debases other people’s marriages.   It’s simply not true.

And I didn’t even get into the whole think with Mike Huckabee taking a shot at Natalie Portman for being an unwed mother.

I’m sure I’ll have more to say on this as I go forward in this blog.

2 comments
  1. Alan said:

    If Charlie Sheen and Hugh Hefner don’t debase marriage, nothing does.

Leave a Reply

